

Agenda Item:

Agenda Date: January 18, 2024

Agenda Placement: Admin Estimated Time: N/A Continued Item:

Board Agenda Item

TO: Air Pollution Control District Board

Aeron Arlin Genet, Air Pollution Control Officer FROM:

CONTACT: Lorena Saldana, Executive Assistant/Board Clerk, (805) 979-8282

SUBJECT: Minutes of the August 23, 2023 Regular Meeting of the Community Advisory Council

RECOMMENDATION:

Receive and file minutes of the August 23, 2023 regular meeting of the Community Advisory Council.

DISCUSSION:

The District Community Advisory Council (CAC) was formed by Resolution No. 94-281 adopted by the Board of Supervisors on May 24, 1994. The CAC is governed by a Charter and By-Laws and its membership consists of members of the community, appointed by individual District Board members. The CAC provides advice to the Air Pollution Control Officer (APCO) and the District Board of Directors in matters related to attainment and maintenance planning, development and promulgation of air pollution control rules and related policy issues. The recommendations of the CAC are advisory in nature and neither the APCO nor the Board is bound by CAC recommendations.

The CAC is scheduled to meet the fourth Wednesday of each month, on an as-needed basis when there are matters to be reviewed. Per the CAC By-Laws, if there are no planning or rulemaking matters to discuss, District staff provides quarterly updates to the CAC. The quarterly status updates are available on the APCD website.

Attached is the minute summary of the August 23, 2023 meeting. The CAC approved the meeting minutes at their November 2, 2023 special meeting. The meeting minutes are provided to your Board after the approval by the CAC members.

ATTACHMENT:

A. August 23, 2023 CAC Meeting Minutes.

Aeron Arlin Genet, Air Pollution Control Officer







ATTACHMENT A

August 23, 2023 CAC Meeting Minutes

January 18, 2024

Santa Barbara County Air Pollution Control District Board of Directors

> 260 San Antonio Road, Suite A Santa Barbara, California 93110



Meeting Minutes (Unofficial)

Community Advisory Council

August 23, 2023

APCD CAC Members

Dennis Beebe Janet Blevins **Dave Davis** Katie Davis Cliff Dugger Matt Dunn Jennifer Fullerton Lee Heller Dillon Kass Michael Lopez Edward McGowan **Badaoui Mouderres** Laura Nuzzo Ben Oakley John Reaves **David Rose** Dave Savinsky Patrice Surmeier, Vice-Chair Jim Taylor Randy Westhaus

Murry Wilson

Buellton Community Recreation Center 301 Second Street Buellton, CA Room A

A. Convene

The meeting was called to order at 4:06 p.m

B. Roll Call

Present: 10 - Beebe, K. Davis, Heller, Kass, McGowan, Mouderres, Nuzzo, Rose, Surmeier, Taylor.

Absent: 11 - Blevins, D. Davis, Dugger, Dunn, Fullerton, Lopez, Oakley, Reaves, Savinsky, Westhaus, Wilson.

Staff: 7 - Aeron Arlin Genet, Dave Harris, Alex Economou, Jim Fredrickson, Tim Mitro, and Lorena Saldana.

C. Public Comment Period – Persons desiring to address the CAC on any subject within the jurisdiction of the CAC not included as part of the agenda may do so at this time.

There were no public comments.

D. Approval of Minutes of the February 22, 2023 meeting.

A motion was made by Lee Heller, seconded by Badaoui Mouderres to approve all the minutes as submitted. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes: 10 - Beebe, K. Davis, Heller, Kass, McGowan, Mouderres, Nuzzo, Rose, Surmeier, Taylor.

Noes: 0 - None. Abstain: 0 - None.

Absent: 11 - Blevins, D. Davis, Dugger, Dunn, Fullerton, Lopez, Oakley,

Reaves, Savinsky, Westhaus, Wilson.

E. Organization of Agenda

There was no change to the organization of the agenda.

F. APCO Report

Received report.

APCD CAC Chair: Aeron Arlin Genet









- **G. NEW BUSINESS –** *Declaration of Interest to be conducted prior to each item.*
 - G-1) Receive and File an update on the Assembly Bill 617 BARCT Analysis for Miscellaneous Combustion Units.

Received item.

Interest: None.

H. Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at 5:02 p.m.

COMMUNITY ADVISORY COUNCIL

ATTENDANCE - 2023

A Quorum of the CAC shall be a majority of the appointed members minus one. Vacant positions shall not count toward a quorum.

NAME	Appointing Board Member	JAN+ 6	FEB+	FEB 22	MAR ¹	APR¹ 26	MAY¹ 24	JUN¹ 28	JUL¹ 26	AUG 23	SEP 27	OCT 25	NOV 22	DEC 27
Dennis Beebe	Infanti	Yes	Yes	Yes						Yes				
Janet Blevins	Hartmann	No	No	No						No				
Dave Davis	Capps	Yes	Yes	Yes						No				
Katie Davis	Rowse	Yes	Yes	No						Yes				
Cliff Dugger	Nelson	Yes	No	Yes						No				
Matt Dunn	Perotte	Yes	Yes	Yes						No				
Jennifer Fullerton	Perotte	Yes	No	No						No				
Lee Heller	Capps	Yes	Yes	Yes						Yes				
Dillon Kass	Patino	No	Yes	Yes						Yes				
Michael Lopez	Clark	No	Yes	Yes						No				
Edward McGowan	Williams	*	*	*						Yes				
Badaoui Mouderres	Williams	*	*	*						Yes				
Laura Nuzzo	Nelson	No	Yes	Yes						Yes				
Ben Oakley	Lavagnino	Yes	Yes	Yes						No				
John Reaves	Hartmann	No	No	No						No				
David Rose	Lavagnino	*	*	*						Yes				
David Savinsky	King	*	Yes	Yes						No				
Patrice Surmeier	Julian	Yes	Yes	Yes						Yes				
Jim Taylor	Clark	Yes	Yes	Yes						Yes				
Randy Westhaus	Patino	Yes	Yes	Yes						No				
Murry Wilson	Julian	No	Yes	Yes						No				
Members Present		11	14	14						10				

¹ There was no CAC meeting.

11

Members Absent

^{*} Not yet appointed/resigned/inactive/term ended

[♦] Special Meeting