

Community Advisory Council

Meeting Minutes (Unofficial)

Special Meeting October 13, 2022

APCD CAC Members

Dennis Beebe Janet Blevins Dave Davis Katie Davis Cliff Dugger Matt Dunn Lee Heller Dillon Kass Donna Lewis Michael Lopez Laura Nuzzo Ben Oakley Glenn Oliver John Reaves **David Savinsky** Patrice Surmeier, Vice-Chair Jim Taylor Randy Westhaus Murry Wilson

Jennifer Fullerton

APCD CAC Chair: Aeron Arlin Genet

REMOTE VIRTUAL PUBLIC PARTICIPATION ONLY

The California State Legislature recently passed, and the Governor signed, Assembly Bill 361 (Rivas, 2021), which amends the Government Code to allow Brown Act bodies to continue to meet remotely if certain elements are met. The Santa Barbara County Air Pollution Control District's Community Advisory Council meeting will temporarily be conducted via video conferencing and telephone.

A. Convene

The special meeting was called to order at 4:01 p.m.

В. Roll Call

Present: 9 - D. Davis, Dunn, Heller, Lopez, Oakley, Reaves,

Savinsky, Westhaus, Wilson.

Absent: 10 - Beebe, K. Davis, Dugger, Fullerton, Kass, Lewis,

Nuzzo, Oliver, Surmeier, Taylor.

Staff: 5 - Aeron Arlin Genet, Alex Economou, Jim

Fredrickson, Tim Mitro, and Lorena Saldana.

C. Reconsider the Circumstances of the COVID-19 State of Emergency

- 1. Reconsider the circumstances of the COVID-19 state of
- 2. Consider whether state or local officials continue to impose or recommend measures to promote social distancing;
- Find that the legislative body has reconsidered the circumstances of the state of emergency, and that State or local officials continue to impose or recommend measures to promote social distancing; and
- 4. Direct staff to continue to notice and hold hearings as remote hearings consistent with Government Code § 54953(e)(3).

A motion was made by Dave Davis, seconded by Lee Heller, that the CAC has reconsidered the circumstances of the state of emergency, that State or local officials continue to impose or recommend measures to promote social distancing, and directed staff to continue to notice and hold hearings as remote hearings consistent with Government Code § 54953(e)(3). The motion carried by the following vote:





Ayes: 9 - D. Davis, Dunn, Heller, Lopez, Oakley, Reaves, Savinsky, Westhaus, Wilson.

Noes: 0 - None. Abstain: 0 - None.

Absent: 10 - Beebe, K. Davis, Dugger, Fullerton, Kass, Lewis, Nuzzo, Oliver, Surmeier, Taylor.

D. Public Comment Period – Persons desiring to address the CAC on any subject within the jurisdiction of the CAC not included as part of the agenda may do so at this time.

There were no public comments.

E. Approval of Minutes of the June 22, 2022, July 21, 2022, August 17, 2022, and September 15, 2022 special meetings.

A motion was made by Lee Heller, seconded by Dave Davis to approve the all minutes as submitted. The motion carried by the following vote.

Ayes: 9 - D. Davis, Dunn, Heller, Lopez, Oakley, Reaves, Savinsky, Westhaus, Wilson.

Noes: 0 - None. Abstain: 0 - None.

Absent: 10 - Beebe, K. Davis, Dugger, Fullerton, Kass, Lewis, Nuzzo, Oliver, Surmeier, Taylor.

F. Organization of Agenda

There was no change to the organization of the agenda.

G. APCO Report

Received report.

- **H. NEW BUSINESS** Declaration of Interest to be conducted prior to each item.
 - H-1) Discuss and consider proposed Community Advisory Council Charter and By-Laws updates.

Following discussion, a motion was made by Ben Oakley, seconded by Michael Lopez to recommend that the District Board of Directors adopt the proposed Charter and By-Laws including additional changes proposed by the CAC for additional clarification. The motion carried by the following vote.

Ayes: 9 - D. Davis, Dunn, Heller, Lopez, Oakley, Reaves, Savinsky, Westhaus, Wilson.

Noes: 0 - None. Abstain: 0 - None.

Absent: 10 - Beebe, K. Davis, Dugger, Fullerton, Kass, Lewis, Nuzzo, Oliver, Surmeier, Taylor.

Interest: 0 - None.

H-2) Discuss and consider recommending that the APCD Board of Directors adopt the 2022 Ozone Plan.

Following discussion, a motion was made by Lee Heller, seconded by Dave Davis to recommend that the District board of Directors adopt the 2022 Ozone Plan. The motion carried by the following vote.

Ayes: 9 - D. Davis, Dunn, Heller, Lopez, Oakley, Reaves, Savinsky, Westhaus, Wilson.

Noes: 0 - None. Abstain: 0 - None.

Absent: 10 - Beebe, K. Davis, Dugger, Fullerton, Kass, Lewis, Nuzzo, Oliver, Surmeier, Taylor.

Interest: 2 - Savinsky, Wilson.

I. Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at 5:30 p.m.

COMMUNITY ADVISORY COUNCIL

ATTENDANCE - 2022

A Quorum of the CAC shall be a majority of the appointed members minus one. Vacant positions shall not count toward a quorum.

NAME	Appointin g Board Member	JA N ¹ 26	FEB ¹ 23	MAR ¹ 23	APR 27	MAY ¹ 25	May + 26	JUN 22	JUL + 21	JUL 27	AUG+	AUG ¹	SEP◆ 15	SEP ¹ 28	OCT+ 13	OCT 26	NOV 23	D E C
Dennis Beebe	Infanti				Yes		No	No	Yes		Yes		Yes		No			
Janet Blevins	Hartmann				Yes		No	Yes	No		No		No		*			
Dave Davis	Hart				Yes		Yes	Yes	Yes		Yes		Yes		Yes			
Katie Davis	Rowse				Yes		Yes	No	No		Yes		No		No			
Cliff Dugger	Nelson				Yes		Yes	No	Yes		Yes		Yes		No			
Matt Dunn	Perotte				No		Yes	Yes	No		No		Yes		Yes			
Jennifer Fullerton	Perotte				Yes		Yes	No	Yes		Yes		Yes		No			
Lee Heller	Hart				*		No	Yes	No		Yes		Yes		Yes			
Dillon Kass	Patino				Yes		Yes	No	Yes		No		Yes		No			
Donna Lewis	Williams				No		No	Yes	Yes		Yes		No		No			
Michael Lopez	Clark				No		Yes	Yes	Yes		Yes		Yes		Yes			
Laura Nuzzo	Nelson				Yes		Yes	Yes	Yes		No		Yes		No			
Ben Oakley	Lavagnino				Yes		Yes	No	Yes		No		Yes		Yes			
Glenn Oliver	Sierra				Yes		Yes	No	No		Yes		Yes		No			
John Reaves	Hartmann				Yes		Yes	No	No		Yes		Yes		Yes			
David Savinsky	Sierra				Yes		Yes	Yes	Yes		Yes		Yes		Yes			
Patrice Surmeier	Julian				Yes		Yes	No	Yes		Yes		Yes		No			
Jim Taylor	Clark				Yes		No	Yes	Yes		Yes		Yes		No			
Randy Westhaus	Patino				Yes		Yes	Yes	No		No		Yes		Yes			
Murry Wilson	Julian				Yes		Yes	Yes	No		No		Yes		Yes			
Members Present					16		15	11	12		13	-	17		9			
Members Absent					3		5	9	8		7		3		10			

¹ There was no CAC meeting.

^{*} Not yet appointed/resigned/inactive/term ended

[♦] Special Meeting – COVID-19 Reconsideration