

air pollution control district santa barbara county

F-4 Agenda Item: Agenda Date: May 19, 2022 Agenda Placement: Admin Estimated Time: N/A Continued Item: No

Board Agenda Item

TO: Air Pollution Control District Board

Aeron Arlin Genet, Air Pollution Control Officer FROM:

CONTACT: Lorena Saldana, Executive Assistant/Board Clerk, (805) 979-8282

SUBJECT: Minutes of the April 28, 2021 District CAC meeting

RECOMMENDATION:

Receive and file the attached minutes from the April 28, 2021 meeting of the District Community Advisory Council.

DISCUSSION:

The District Community Advisory Council (CAC) was formed by Resolution No. 94-281 adopted by the Board of Supervisors on May 24, 1994. The CAC is governed by a Charter and By-Laws and its membership consists of members of the community, appointed by individual District Board members. The CAC provides advice to the Air Pollution Control Officer (APCO) and the District Board of Directors in matters related to attainment and maintenance planning, development and promulgation of air pollution control rules and related policy issues. The recommendations of the CAC are advisory in nature and neither the APCO nor the Board is bound by CAC recommendations.

The CAC is scheduled to meet the fourth Wednesday of each month, on an as-needed basis when there are matters to be reviewed. Per the CAC By-Laws, if there are no planning or rulemaking matters to discuss, District staff provides quarterly updates to the CAC. The quarterly status updates are available on the APCD website.

Attached, is the minute summary of the April 28, 2021 meeting. The CAC approved the meeting minutes at their April 27, 2022 meeting. We provide such minutes to your Board after their approval by the CAC members.

ATTACHMENT:

A. April 28, 2021 CAC Meeting Minutes

Aeron Arlin Genet, Air Pollution Control Officer

ATTACHMENT A

Community Advisory Council Meeting Minutes April 28, 2021

May 19, 2022

Santa Barbara County Air Pollution Control District Board of Directors

> 260 San Antonio Road, Suite A Santa Barbara, California 93110



Community Advisory Council

APCD CAC Members Janet Blevins

Jennifer Fullerton

Joan Jamieson

Dave Davis Katie Davis

Cliff Dugger Matt Dunn

Dillon Kass

Donna Lewis Michael Lopez

Lee Moldaver, Vice-Chair

Laura Nuzzo Ben Oakley Glenn Oliver

John Reaves Roy Reed

Jim Taylor

Murry Wilson

David Savinsky Bill Shelor Patrice Surmeier

Randy Westhaus

Meeting Minutes (Official)

April 28, 2021

REMOTE VIRTUAL PUBLIC PARTICIPATION ONLY

Per guidance of California Department of Public Health and the California Governor's Stay at Home Executive Order N-33-20 issued on March 19, 2020 to protect the health and well-being of all Californians and to establish consistency across the state in order to slow the spread of COVID-19, the Santa Barbara County Air Pollution Control District's Community Advisory Council meeting was conducted via video conferencing and telephone.

A. Convene

The special meeting was called to order at 4:01 p.m

B. Roll Call

Staff:

Present: 16 - Blevins, D. Davis, K. Davis, Dunn, Fullerton, Kass, Lewis, Lopez, Nuzzo, Oakley, Oliver, Reaves, Savinsky, Shelor (arrived approx. 4:35 p.m.), Surmeier, Westhaus.

- Absent: 6 Dugger, Jamieson, Moldaver, Reed, Taylor, Wilson.
 - 7 Aeron Arlin Genet, Jim Fredrickson, David Harris, Aimee Long, Tim Mitro, Molly Pearson, Lorena Saldana.
- C. Public Comment Period Persons desiring to address the CAC on any subject within the jurisdiction of the CAC not included as part of the agenda may do so at this time.

There were no public comments.

D. Approval of Minutes of the July 22, 2020 meeting

A motion was made by Dave Davis, seconded by Ben Oakley to approve the minutes as submitted. The motion carried by the following vote.

Ayes:	13 -	Blevins, D. Davis, K. Davis, Dunn, Fullerton, Kass,
-		Lewis, Lopez, Nuzzo, Oakley, Oliver, Surmeier,
		Westhaus
Noes:	0 -	None.
Abstain:	2 -	Reaves, Savinsky.
Absent:	7 -	Dugger, Jamieson, Moldaver, Reed, Shelor, Taylor,
		Wilson.

APCD CAC Chair: Aeron Arlin Genet

📞 (805) 979-8050

E. Organization of Agenda

There was no change to the organization of the agenda.

F. APCO Report

Received report.

G. NEW BUSINESS

Declaration of Interest to be conducted before a vote is taken on any particular item.

- G-1) Discuss and Consider Draft Rule 363 Particulate Matter (PM) Control Devices as follows:
 - a. Concurrent with public workshop, receive presentation on Draft Rule 363;
 - b. Receive public comment on Draft Rule 363;
 - c. Close public workshop;
 - d. Discuss and consider public comments on Draft Rule 363; and,

e. Discuss and consider recommending that the District Board of Directors adopt Draft Rule 363 – Particulate Matter (PM) Control Devices.

Public workshop held. Following discussion, a motion was made by Patrice Surmeier, seconded by Dave Davis, to continue this item to the May 26, 2021 CAC meeting. The motion carried the following vote:

15 -	Blevins, D. Davis, K. Davis, Dunn, Fullerton, Kass, Lewis, Nuzzo, Oakley,
	Oliver, Reaves, Savinsky, Shelor, Surmeier, Westhaus.
0 -	None.
0 -	None.
7 -	Dugger, Jamieson, Lopez, Moldaver, Reed, Taylor, Wilson.
	0 - 0 -

Interest: 0 - None.

CAC Member B. Shelor arrived during this item.

H. Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at 6:17 p.m.

COMMUNITY ADVISORY COUNCIL ATTENDANCE – 2021

A Quorum of the CAC shall be a majority of the appointed members minus one. Vacant positions shall not count toward a quorum.

NAME	Appointing Board Member	JAN ¹ 27	FEB ¹ 24	MAR ¹ 24	APR 28	MAY 26	JUN 23	JUL 28	AUG 25	SEP 22	ОСТ 27	NOV 24	DEC 22
Janet Blevins	Hartmann				Yes								
Dave Davis	Hart				Yes								
Katie Davis	Murillo				Yes								
Cliff Dugger	Nelson				No								
Matt Dunn	Perotte				Yes								
Jennifer Fullerton	Perotte				Yes								
Joan Jamieson	Uhrig				No								
Dillon Kass	Patino				Yes								
Donna Lewis	Williams				Yes								
Michael Lopez	Clark				Yes								
Lee Moldaver	Murillo				No								
Laura Nuzzo	Nelson				Yes								
Ben Oakley	Lavagnino				Yes								
Glenn Oliver	Sierra				Yes								
John Reaves	Hartmann				Yes								
Roy Reed	Lavagnino				No								
David Savinsky	Sierra				Yes								
Bill Shelor	Hart				Yes								
Patrice Surmeier	Julian				Yes								
Jim Taylor	Clark				No								
Randy Westhaus	Patino				Yes								
Murry Wilson	Julian				No								

Members Present

16 6

1 There was no CAC meeting.

* Not yet appointed/resigned/inactive/term ended

Members Absent