Our Vision 👋 Clean Air



Agenda Date:December 20, 2018Agenda Placement:Admin.Estimated Time:N/AContinued Item:No

Board Agenda Item

TO: Air Pollution Control District Board

FROM: Aeron Arlin Genet, Air Pollution Control Officer Mu

CONTACT: Sara Hunt, Executive Assistant/Board Clerk (805-961-8853)

SUBJECT: Minutes of the January 2018 CAC Meeting

RECOMMENDATION:

Receive and file the attached minutes from the January 11, 2018 meeting of the APCD Community Advisory Council.

DISCUSSION:

The APCD Community Advisory Council (CAC) was formed by Resolution No. 94-281 adopted by the Board of Supervisors on May 24, 1994. The CAC is governed by a Charter and By-Laws and its membership consists of members of the community, appointed by individual APCD Board members. The CAC provides advice to the Air Pollution Control Officer (APCO) and the APCD Board of Directors in matters related to attainment and maintenance planning, development and promulgation of air pollution control rules and related policy issues. The recommendations of the CAC are advisory in nature and neither the APCO nor the Board is bound by CAC recommendations. The CAC is scheduled to meet the fourth Wednesday of each month, on an as-needed basis when there are matters to be reviewed.

The attached minutes summarize the January 2018 meeting. We provide such minutes to your Board after their approval by the CAC members.

ATTACHMENT:

A. January 11, 2018 CAC Minutes



Our Vision 👋 Clean Air

	A motion was made by Lee Modal	Meeting Minutes									
Community Advisory Council		January 11, 2018									
APCD CAC Members		Santa Ynez Valley Marriott 555 McMurray Road Buellton, CA									
Glenn Avolio Janet Blevins Jim Byrne Dr. Inge Cox	I.	Convene - The meeting was called to order at 6:34 p.m.									
Dave Davis	Н.	Roll Call									
Katie Davis Cliff Dugger Matt Dunn Shams Hasan Bailey Hudson Donna Lewis		Present: 18 - Blevins, Byrne, Cox, D. Davis, Dugger, Dunn, Hasan, Lewis, Lopez, Moldaver, Oakley, Oliver, Reed, Savinsky, Shelor, Surmeier (arrived approx. 6:38 pm), Teall, Wilson.									
Michael Lopez Lee Moldaver		Absent: 6 - Avolio, K. Davis, Hudson, Tamura, Westhaus, Widroe.									
Ben Oakley Glenn Oliver Roy Reed David Savinsky		Staff: 6 - Aeron Arlin Genet, Ben Ellenberger, Molly Pearson, Tim Mitro, Mike Goldman, Sara Hunt.									
Bill Shelor Patrice Surmeier,	III.	Public Comment Period									
Vice-Chair Laurie Tamura Trey Teall		Received public comments.									
Randy Westhaus Thomas Widroe	CAC	Member Surmeier arrived at this time.									
Murry Wilson	IV.	Approval of Minutes of the February 8, 2017 meeting									
		A motion was made by Lee Moldaver, seconded by Dave Davis, to approve the minutes as submitted. The motion carried by the following vote.									
		Ayes: 18 - Blevins, Byrne, Cox, D. Davis, Dugger, Dunn, Hasan, Lewis, Lopez, Moldaver, Oakley, Oliver, Reed, Savinsky, Shelor, Surmeier, Teall, Wilson.									
		Noes: 0 - None. Abstain: 0 - None.									
		Absent: 6 - Avolio, K. Davis, Hudson, Tamura, Westhaus, Widroe.									

APCD CAC Chair:

Aeron Arlin Genet

V. Organization of Agenda and Declaration of Interests

There was no change to the organization of the agenda. Members gave their Declarations of Interest, which are listed on the attached voting statistics sheet.

VI. APCO Report

Received report.

VII. New Business

A. Discuss and consider changing the regularly scheduled CAC meeting day and frequency.

Following discussion, a motion was made by Patrice Surmeier, seconded by Lee Moldaver, to recommend that the APCD Board of Directors amend the CAC By-Laws to change the meeting day to the 4th Wednesday of each month, and that meetings take place on an as-needed basis with the condition that staff commit to providing quarterly written updates during periods where there may not be many planning or rulemaking matters for the CAC to discuss. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes:	17 -	Blevins, Byrne, D. Davis, Dugger, Dunn, Hasan, Lewis, Lopez, Moldaver, Oakley, Oliver, Reed, Savinsky, Shelor, Surmeier, Teall, Wilson.
Noes:	0 -	None.
Abstain:	1 -	Cox.
Absent:	6 -	Avolio, K. Davis, Hudson, Tamura, Westhaus, Widroe.

B. Discuss and consider revisions to Rule 1304 – Part 70 Operating Permits – Issuance, Renewal, Modification and Reopening

Following discussion, a motion was made by Lee Moldaver, seconded by Glenn Oliver, to recommend that the APCD Board of Directors adopt the proposed revisions to Rule 1304. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes:	16 -	Blevins, Byrne, D. Davis, Dugger, Dunn, Hasan, Lewis, Lopez, Moldaver,
		Oakley, Oliver, Savinsky, Shelor, Surmeier, Teall, Wilson.
Noes:	2 -	Cox, Reed.
Abstain [.]	0 -	None

- Abstain: U None.
- Absent: 6 Avolio, K. Davis, Hudson, Tamura, Westhaus, Widroe.

C. Discuss and consider revisions to Rule 360 – Emissions of Oxides of Nitrogen from Large Water Heaters and Small Boilers

Following discussion, a motion was made by Lee Moldaver, seconded by Patrice Surmeier, to recommend that the APCD Board of Directors adopt the proposed revisions to Rule 360. The motion carried by the following vote:

Ayes:	17 -	Blevins, Byrne, Cox, D. Davis, Dugger, Dunn, Hasan, Lewis, Lopez, Moldaver, Oakley, Oliver, Reed, Savinsky, Shelor, Surmeier, Wilson.
Noes: Abstain: Absent:	1 -	None. Teall. Avolio, K. Davis, Hudson, Tamura, Westhaus, Widroe.

VIII. Adjourn – The meeting was adjourned at 8:17 p.m.

COMMUNITY ADVISORY COUNCIL Voting Worksheet January 11, 2018

	VII-A	VII-A	VII-B	VII-B	VII-C	VII-C	
	Interests	Vote	Interests	Vote	Interests	Vote	
Glenn Avolio	Absent	Absent Absent		Absent	Absent	Absent	
Janet Blevins	No	Yes	No	Yes	No	Yes	
Jim Byrne	No	Yes	No	Yes	No	Yes	
Dr. Inge Cox	No	Abstain	No	No	No	Yes	
Dave Davis	No	Yes	No	Yes	No	Yes	
Katie Davis	Absent	Absent	Absent	Absent	Absent	Absent	
Cliff Dugger	No	Yes	No	Yes	No	Yes	
Matt Dunn	No	Yes	No	Yes	No	Yes	
Shams Hasan	No	Yes	No	Yes	Yes	Yes	
Bailey Hudson	Absent	Absent	Absent	Absent	Absent	Absent	
Donna Lewis	No	Yes	No	Yes	No	Yes	
Michael Lopez	No	Yes	No	Yes	No	Yes	
Lee Moldaver	No	Yes	No	Yes	No	Yes	
Ben Oakley	No	Yes	No	Yes	Yes	Yes	
Glenn Oliver	No	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	
Roy Reed	No	Yes	No	No	Yes	Yes	
David Savinsky	No	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	
Bill Shelor	No	Yes	No	Yes	No	Yes	
Patrice Surmeier	No	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	Yes	
Laurie Tamura	Absent	Absent	Absent	Absent	Absent	Absent	
Trey Teall	No	Yes	No	Yes	No	Abstain	
Randy Westhaus	Absent	Absent	Absent	Absent	Absent	Absent	
Thomas Widroe	Absent	Absent	Absent	Absent	Absent	Absent	
Murry Wilson	No	Yes	No	Yes	Yes	Yes	
Vote:		17:0:1		16:2:0		17:0:1	

COMMUNITY ADVISORY COUNCIL ATTENDANCE – 2018

A Quorum of the CAC shall be a majority of the appointed members minus one. Vacant positions shall not count toward a quorum.

NAME	Appointing	JAN	FEB	MAR	APR	MAY	JUN	JUL	AUG	SEP	ост	NOV	DEC
	Board Member	11	14	14	25	23	27	25	22	26	24	7	26
Glenn Avolio	Bennett	No											
Janet Blevins	Hartmann	Yes											
Jim Byrne	Mosby	Yes											
Dr. Inge Cox	Hartmann	Yes											
Dave Davis	Wolf	Yes											
Katie Davis	Schneider	No											
Cliff Dugger	Adam	Yes											
Matt Dunn	Bennett	Yes											
Shams Hasan	Adam	Yes											
Bailey Hudson	Patino	No											
Donna Lewis	Williams	Yes											
Michael Lopez	Clark	Yes											
Lee Moldaver	Schneider	Yes											
Ben Oakley	Lavagnino	Yes											
Glenn Oliver	Sierra	Yes											
Roy Reed	Lavagnino	Yes											
David Savinsky	Sierra	Yes											
Bill Shelor	Wolf	Yes											
Patrice Surmeier	Lizalde	Yes											
Laurie Tamura	Mosby	No											
Trey Teall	Williams	Yes											
Randy Westhaus	Patino	No											
Thomas Widroe	Richardson	No											
Murry Wilson	Lizalde	Yes											

Members Absent

¹ There was no CAC meeting. * Not yet appointed/resigned/inactive/term ended

6